Modern and traditional
This rustic two-post timbered house can look back on a long history. Built of top-quality oak by a master carpenter, it was mentioned for the first time in 1556 in a document known as the rent-roll, a register of landholders. The inscription "Ora et labora" was carved into one of the mighty beams during the Thirty Years' War and is testimony to the past of this house that is steeped in history. The building was subsequently dismantled and then rebuilt in its current form in 1792.
Since this date it has managed to remain intact despite all the ups and downs of history. Following extensive renovation of the premises, most recently in 2007, Menge’s Hof was then renamed Hotel Kokenhof. Here a comfortable, modern-day interior has been skilfully combined with the unique character of a historic timbered house.